“Photography is big. There’s room for everyone.”

Famous Photographer Josef Koudelka said to a group of passionate photographers: “Photography is big. There’s room for everyone.” For 40 years he has been a member of Magnum Photos. He is know for for his photographs of the Soviet invasion of his country in 1968 and his book “Gypsies”.

The 77 year old Czech photographer presented his new work at the recent photo festival FotoIstanbul.  In an Q&A session he gave some interesting statements – the quotes were collected by Julius Motal of The Phoblographer (www.thephoblographer.com) and  published in his blog post (http://bit.ly/1OLMr2v)

“I don’t judge photographers based on what they say. I judge them based on their photographs.”

“I never knew why I photographed the gypsies, but I think I photographed the gypsies because of the music.”

“I saw much more beautiful things than terrible things.”

“I do exactly what I want to, and I photograph what I want to. I have no regrets.”

“If I look at my photographs, it seems to me that I reacted correctly. And that’s enough for me.”

“I never did any workshops. I’m still alive.”

“The most important thing is to enjoy taking photographs.”

I really like the following quote of Koudelka (found in an New York Times interview with him):

For 40 years I have been traveling. I never stay in one country more than three months. Why? Because I was interested in seeing, and if I stay longer I become blind.

What does photography mean to YOU?

Leave a Reply

